In 1940 Elvington was constructed as a grass airfield but as experience had shown bombers were not really suitable for grass airfields.
The airfield was completely rebuilt and opened in 1942 as a sub-station to Pocklington, part of No4 Group Bomber Command.
First arrivals were Whitleys of 77 Squadron which arrived in 1942 and immediately started to convert to Halifax BII's. In 1944, two squadrons (No 346 and 347) were formed of the Free French Air Force with Halifax V's to replace 77 squadron. The two French Squadrons remained for the duration of the war. Elvington being the only Free French airfield in the UK.
In 1953, as part of the expansion programme for the US 3rd Air Force and 7th Air Division Strategic Air Command, Elvington was earmarked as a bomber base again but this time for the US Airforce.
After a total reconstruction of the airfield it was abandoned without ever being used in 1958.
The airfield then became a relief landing ground for the nearby bases of RAF Church Fenton and Linton-on-Ouse until the 1990's before it was finally closed officially by the MoD.
Today you can visit the Yorkshire Air Museum, which is housed around the original control tower. The tower has been fully restored to its original configuration of 1942 along with the surrounding buildings. Various restoration projects are constantly underway, the most notable has been the Halifax and Mosquito rebuilds. The museum has to be a must to visitors to the region.
A little way from the airfield site towards Elvington village, can be seen a memorial to the French Air Force. (See map)